Leo Session 4 Year 3 Production Project

what an imposing 8 bit door” by ▓▒░ TORLEY ░▒▓ is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

SUMMARY

Role

UI / Heads Up Display

Intention (SMART Goal) for the Session

By March 1, as part of TEAM 6 as UI / Heads Up Display, I will have evidence of Creating a multiple choice level up system by following Mini Unity Tutorial – How To Create Multiple Choice Options for Session 4.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Luca Galante is an Italian game designer from Rome, best known for making the vastly reaching game “Vampire Survivors”. Succeeding from its simplicity, never needing to use more than one hand to play this game and was sold for an incredibly low price to entice people into addictive game play. Galante made this while programming slot machines and working at McDonnalds, programming this game for fun

Primary Source

Enter the Gungeon has been a source that can somewhat resemble a good chunk of the games design off of. It uses some of the same art style and has a lot of the same design choices that.

Secondary Source

This video looks at what makes Enter the Gungeon different and in their opinion what makes it better than other popular rogue-likes of the genre

Training Source(s)

Project Timeline

Pre-production Milestones

  • Trello
  • SMART goal
  • Pause Menu

Production Milestones

  • Options Menu
  • Level System
  • Compendium

Post-production

  • Dash Timer
  • Game Update
  • Evidence for session

Proposed Budget

Budget

Evidence of Team Planning and Decisions

https://trello.com/b/A8v6r04z/session-1-period-4-team-6

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is image-1024x609.png

PRODUCTION – ACTION

The (FILM, SOUND, or GAME Creation)

https://funny-man-bryce.itch.io/arlos-game

This is the link to the game where the skills are displayed

Skills Commentary

the smart goal is displayed with in the game

This is the link to the game where the skills are displayed in credits menu
https://funny-man-bryce.itch.io/arlos-game

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

When creating a level up menu for our game there was a lot of thought that went into it. Knowing what would be appealing to the player while also having things be balanced so certain things were much stronger than others was a large priority. I also had to do a lot of problem solving when it came to the level up menu as it was one of my first projects that was not following a tutorial, with even my training source not being helpful in the end.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

I communicated a lot with the people on my team as I always do. I talked a lot to our level designer to make sure the game was properly balanced. With the artists I needed various sprites and fonts to implement into my code. By communicating with them I was able to make the game look much better.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used Unity, Visual Studio Code, and Github to do the main portions of work, though I used many other sources such as unity documentation and YouTube to help with errors and concepts I had. Trello also helped a lot to keep track of ideas and work that I had to do.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

Working and finishing up this game has prepared me for a potential career in the game design work field. Additionally, it increased my understanding over Unity’s C# engine. I can also apply many of the organization skills I learned in other areas of my life, such as using Trello to write important tasks down and complete them on my own time.

Reactions to the Final Version

“The game would do well at the game competition. I would like to see a copy of the game. Also have the camera not drift off into the void and constrain it to the main arena” -Jim

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

I am happy with how the game turned out. It is easily my biggest full game and I can see the progress of my skillset.

Grammar and Spelling

quillbot

Editor

Bryce

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *